Finnish Gingerbread

This is going to be the only gingerbread recipe I ever make from now on. My whole house smells like orange, allspice and ginger. And they are so delicious. http://www.food.com/recipe/piparkakut-finnish-ginger-cookies-100516

These cookies made my entire house smell amazing both at the prep and baking stages and they are delicious.

Santaish gingerbread

They are definitely going to be my go-to gingerbread cookies from now on. I used the brown sugar because I like a chewier cookie and I rolled them out between waxed paper so that they wouldn’t get too heavy with added flour. They are incredibly light. When I make them again I need to remember to separate and flatten the dough disks more before refrigerating because rolling them out was an ordeal.

I decorated them with this super easy royal icing recipe but used orange juice in place of water. Orange zest and flavour is very important to me in a gingerbread cookie. These ones were the kid’s special cookies to decorate with icing tubes and tons of sprinkles and coloured sugar. More is more with those two.

Leave a Reply

